Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Institution – Various

Established in 1977, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture is awarded by the Aga Khan Trust for Culture for designs that have a siginificant impact on Muslim societies. It is the only architecture award that takes into consideration the occupation and use of completed design, typically designs can only be nominated after at least 3 years of use. This transgresses standard practice of awarding prizes to recently completed buildings with no evaluation as to their operation, function and inhabitation. The Aga Khan Award shifts emphasis away from aesthetics, whilst also bringing attention to the work of lesser-known architects, who may not have a signature style, but whose work emphasises the social and cultural impact of their designs. This is especially true for the more recent recipients of the award including, Anna Heringer and Eike Roswag, Kéré Architecture, Nader Khallili and Vāstu-Shilpā Foundation.

Other Work

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Architecture and Polyphony: Building in the Islamic World Today (London: Thames & Hudson, 2004).

---, Intervention Architecture: Buildings for Change, illustrated edition (London: I B Tauris & Co Ltd, 2007).

References About

Sibel Bozdogan, 'Review: The Aga Khan Award for Architecture: A Philosophy of Reconciliation', Journal of Architectural Education, 45 (1992): 182-188.

Philip Jodidio, Under the Eaves of Architecture: The Aga Khan: Builder and Patron (New York: Prestel, 2007).


Loading, please wait...

  • Concept
  • Event
  • Organisation
  • Project
  • Show /Hide Connections
  • Lock /unlock Position
  • View entry in database
  • Remove from map